NMDWS News Release-December 28, 2020: New Mexico Minimum Wage Increase goes into effect Friday, Janu
For Immediate Release
December 28, 2020
Contact: Stacy Johnston
Acting Public Information Officer
New Mexico Minimum Wage Increase goes into effect Friday, January 1, 2021
(Albuquerque, NM) – The New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions (NMDWS) advises employers and workers that New Mexico’s minimum wage is increasing, effective Friday, January 1st, 2021. This increase is in accordance with an amendment to the New Mexico Minimum Wage Act signed into law by Governor Lujan Grisham on April 1, 2019.
Beginning January 1, 2021: State minimum wage: $10.50 per hour State tipped minimum wage: $2.55 per hour
"Governor Lujan Grisham, and the rest of this administration, believe strongly that a fair day's work deserves a fair day's pay," said Bill McCamley, NMDWS Cabinet Secretary. "If COVID has shown us anything, it’s that our low wage workers like grocery store employees, janitors, bus drivers, and health care heroes keeping our communities going deserve a raise now more than ever. They are going to get one."
Minimum wage is the lowest wage that an employer is legally required to pay to workers. NMDWS enforces the state and federal minimum wage. The City of Albuquerque, Bernalillo County, the City of Las Cruces, the City of Santa Fe, and Santa Fe County currently enforce their own minimum wage. Businesses should be aware that the state will enforce the highest available rate.
Employers are required to post the New Mexico Minimum Wage Act Summary Poster in a place where all workers can easily see it.
Additional information about the minimum wage, including PDF version of the Minimum Wage Act summary poster in both English and Spanish, is available on our website at www.dws.state.nm.us/Minimum-Wage-Information. For the latest announcements and updates follow NMDWS on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, and our official YouTube channel.